ginger limeade tea + flu season


The sudden weather change that brought the cold and the rain all week also brought sinus infections and flu symptoms. Luckily we have a 3-day weekend to recover. And luckily I have a chunk of ginger hanging out in my fridge – it’s known for easing congestion and cough (with the added benefit of aiding digestion). Also, a lime for the vitamin kick and honey for throat soothing. Sounds like a home remedy to me. The best part? It tastes like a steamy twist on limeade, concocted for the dual purposes of remembering summer and combatting colds. Bonus: The heat of the ginger spice in the tea opens up your senses a bit, and I could actually taste my chicken soup as a result!

Ginger limeade tea

ginger root, peeled and grated
fresh-squeezed lime juice
honey
hot water

I used 1 heaping teaspoon grated ginger, the juice of half a lime and a big drizzle of honey for my small teapot. You can adjust to taste.

Enjoy during a marathon of The Sopranos. In bed.

About Karen

Texas transplant

3 comments

  1. I hope that you are feeling better now. Is Mike willing to drink this concoction?

    I am going to try it. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

